My Homeschool Story: Blog Hop and Giveaway!!!!

Standard

I have some very exciting news!  I am participating in a blog hop with the rest of the Home Educating Family review team every Friday in September!  And if that weren’t exciting enough, each week I am going to be able to offer a giveaway for a product from Home Educating Family!  You can find out the details at the end of this post!

Every so often someone asks me why we homeschool.  It should be an easy question to answer, but it isn’t.  I didn’t one day wake up and decide to homeschool.  It was a process, one that I realize now God guided us through every step of the way…

You see, I never really intended to homeschool.  For that matter, I really hadn’t planned to be a stay-at-home mom, either.  For as long as I can remember I wanted to be a teacher, but my dreams of teaching always included things like rows of school desks, a blackboard, and recess.  Smile 

So, I went to college, got my elementary education degree, and….

scan0045scan0044

became a teacher.  And I loved almost every minute of it.  And then, this happened:

5. Cheyenne Arrival 3

And a few years later, this happened:

23

Carson Arrival 1b

And I couldn’t imagine being away from them more than eight hours a day.  So, my teaching career took a different turn, and I became a stay-at-home mom.

And then, a few years later…..

Chey5Birthday08

…my baby girl turned five.  And our school district had all day Kindergarten.  And they wanted her on the bus at a little after seven and didn’t plan to bring her home until after four. 

So my husband and I talked..and prayed..and talked..and prayed.  And I spent hours reading about homeschooling and talking to people, including one of my best friends, who had chosen to homeschool. And we decided to “try” homeschooling for a year and “see how it goes”.  We could always put her into Kindergarten the next year, even if she would be an older six, right?

And here we are…eight years later…  Homeschooling has been the best choice for our family.  I can’t imagine how different our life would be had we chosen a different path.  How much I would have missed! 

SchoolSept02Egypt Unit0002PICT0242750307-R1-19-5IMG_6422IMG_8289IMG_2815IMG_0008 PPIMG_0054IMG_0090IMG_0367IMG_0417IMG_9622IMG_9882IMG_9885PICT0165IMG_5468IMG_9607100_2339IMG_0735IMG_1428PICT1025PICT1028PICT1039PICT1125PICT1133PICT1149PICT1164PICT1170PICT1217PICT1218IMG_8079IMG_8234IMG_8242IMG_8255IMG_8283IMG_8292IMG_9159IMG_0403IMG_0406

Now, for the giveaway information!  This week, thanks to Home Educating Family, I am able to giveaway a one-year subscription for Home Educating Family Magazine to one of my readers!  You have until midnight next Thursday (September 13th) to enter.  I will be using random.org to choose a winner, which I will announce next Friday (September 14th).  If you enter, please be sure to check back on Friday to see if you are the winner.  I will need to forward the winner’s name and email to Home Educating Family so that they can send you the prize!

Here’s how to enter:

You may have up to three entries per person.  Any extra entries will be deleted before I determine the winner. 

1. You may have one entry just for leaving any comment on this post.  I’d love to know more about you, but even just a “nice post” will do!  Smile

2. You may have one entry for “liking” Crestview Heights Academy on Facebook.  Please leave a separate comment noting that you have done so.  If you already like CHA, just let me know that in the comment.

3. You may have one entry for tweeting about the contest or posting about it on Facebook.  If you don’t have Twitter or Facebook, you can email about the contest or just tell a friend.  Leave a separate comment for completing this activity as well.

Due to international sweepstakes laws, this giveaway is for US entrants only. This giveaway is not tied to any social media site.

I can’t wait until next week, when I will be able to announce the winner of this contest and tell you about next week’s prize!

Please go check out the rest of my team’s blogs and read about their unique homeschool stories.

376929_10151110779863213_1698700296_n

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Homeschool Story | Home Educating Family Association Blog

  2. Steph, looking at all these pictures made me smile. Your kids have grown so much. SOMEDAY I hope we can get our girls together again. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crestview Heights Academy

  4. Pingback: My Homeschool Story | HEDUA

  5. Pingback: My Homeschool Story - HEDUA

Leave a Reply

