While You Were Reading

Standard

We do a LOT of reading aloud around here.  Even though the books are very interesting, that makes for a long time just sitting some days.  If the kids start getting a little restless, I will let them do other quiet things while I read aloud.  Some days it is play dough or painting or coloring.  Other days they can make things with legos or bristle blocks or Lincoln logs.  Other times they might play with toy figures or cars or tractors.  As long as it is quiet and they can give a descent narration every so often, it makes reading time smoother for all of us.  Here is what they were working on today while I read from The Hobbit:

100_1383100_1386100_1388100_1392100_1395100_1396100_1397100_1398

2 responses »

  1. Wow, you are tackling The Hobbit? I’m very impressed! That’s a loooong book to read aloud!

    We love family read-alouds, too! My daughter (12) reads a lot on her own; wish I could get my son (10) to read more fiction. He’s strictly a non-fiction reader at the moment. We’re working on it!

    I like what they created…Lincoln logs never get old! My kids like to draw illustrations for the book while I read, too!

    Have fun learning with your kids!

  2. Hi! I am stopping by from the MFW Blogroll and co-hosting the My Father’s World Homeschool Highlights this school year with Monica @ DiscoverTheirGifts. This is where MFW families connect weekly, or as often as you like, to share what we are doing in our schools. The first one is September 8, the info is on my blog. I hope you join us!

    Kattie
    http://2ladybugsandalizard.blogspot.com/

    ps: Mine need to stay busy during read alouds too, it’s fun to see them be creative too 🙂

Leave a Reply

