A Day in the Life

Standard

Since I posted our actual schedule earlier this year, I thought that I would take you through what our day is like and how it is going.  I really, really like the way our schedule is working so far.  They kids are..ahem..less than thrilled about getting back into a routine, but the routine itself works great.

We start our morning off with chores.  I get the kids up around 7:30 and they are supposed to do all of their chores and be ready for Bible time at 8:15.  We aren’t always exactly on time, but we come close most days.  Here are our new chore charts that I made using this idea that I found on pinterest:

 

I put all of the chores I want done that day on the “to do” side and they move the pins over to the “done” side as they finish, so I can quickly check and see what has been done. 

Next up is Bible time, which lasts somewhere from about 8:15 until 9:00 and includes quiet time, together Bible study, and character lessons. 

IMG_0420

From about 9:00 to 10:30 we do language.  Buddy and I work together first while Boo does her independent work and then we do vocabulary together before we switch. 

IMG_0445IMG_0447IMG_0429IMG_0423IMG_0448

10:30-11:10 is Math time.  I start with Buddy while Boo spends some time on the computer.  Then, we switch again and Buddy gets his turn on the computer while Boo and I work together.

IMG_0430IMG_0432

Before lunch we also do our history or geography work from Explorations to 1850 and our Canada Study time.

IMG_0421IMG_0425IMG_0426IMG_0428IMG_0437IMG_0440IMG_0441IMG_0442

We have lunch at 12:00, followed by our literature time.  By this time it is around 1:00.  At 1:00 we do art or music, depending on the day of the week.  Starting next week , we will be going to Homeschool Co-op on Thursday afternoons.  We finish up the day with Science, Life Skills, and piano practice.

IMG_0064IMG_9564

My original schedule had us getting done around 3:30, and most days we are done about 2:30.  That gives us time to go to the Y and swim or have a walk before we get ready for our evening activities.  So far we are just back into Tae Kwon Do on Tuesday and Thursday nights.  Soon we will add AWANA on Wednesdays and piano on Mondays. 

I always enjoy seeing how other people schedule their days.  I hope you enjoyed a peek into ours!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing your day. We’re unschoolers in Australia and love hearing about other homeschoolers’ lives and meeting them as we travel!

  2. Sounds like a very nice routine! I like the chore charts–will definitely check out the link.

    Good for you for getting done early. We like to have our afternoons free, so it’s an incentive to get started on time! My kids do karate and music lessons…and now they want to do a drama class! I feel like we are already so busy, it’s hard to fit it all in!

    Enjoyed reading about your day! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I just found your blog and had a question. We also do MFW. I have a 4th and 5th grader and would like to get the whole 5 year cycle done before they start high school. We are currently doing exploring countries , which would put my 5th grader a year short to finish the 5 year cycle.

    Looking at your schedule it looks like you are doing Explorations to 1850 and also doing Exploring Counttries and Cultures Geography study. I hadn’t thought about doing both together, but you got me to thinking it may work if I tweak it along the way, or would it be too much??

    Could you please share how this works out for you and how you incorporate both without it being too much and having time to do both. Any insites would be most helpful.

    Thanks and have a wonderful day!!

  4. Hi, Tonia! I’m so glad you stopped by! We don’t actually do Countries and Cultures at the same time. Are you talking about where it mentions our Canada study? Our children are from India so last year I decided to do a year-long unit study on India because I thought it was important that they know about their birth country. I also feel that many Americans don’t know nearly enough about Canada in particular, but also Mexico, for next-door neighbors! So this year we are studying Canada and next year we will study Mexico. I do know some families that manage to do all five units in four years, but they do it by doing year-round school and taking shorter breaks than many families. I’m sorry that I am not very helpful there. As far as our Canada study, we spend ten minutes or so a day reading some information about Canada or doing a project such as cooking food, learning the language, etc. about three days a week. Thanks again for stopping by and if I can be of any more help to you, please let me know! Stephenie

Leave a Reply

