Getting the Word Out

Standard

Hello!  Welcome to my place!

I have started more than one blog and I always find this first post a little hard…  I thought I would start by telling you a little about myself, my family, and my purpose for this site.

I have been a teacher nearly all my life.  I can remember teaching my little sister how to write in cursive (and, for that matter, how to drive a stick-shift car!)  I helped with Summer Reading program, worked at a day care center, babysat every Friday and Saturday night.  It  is probably no surprise to you, then, if I tell you that I went on to get my teaching degree in Elementary Education.  After I married I spent six wonderful years teaching in the public schools and then into our lives came a beautiful little bundle from Kolkata, India…our daughter.  I couldn’t stand to be away from her the one year I taught after she came home, so I resigned in February and came home to be “teacher” to one..and later two..little Indians.  My husband and I decided that it would be best for our family to homeschool our children, and so Crestview Heights Academy was born.  As any parent can tell you, I have been homeschooling our children since the minute they were placed into my arms.  Officially, however, our homeschool journey began in 2005.

I love homeschooling.  I love the time I get to spend with our children.  I love the planning.  I really love the planning.  The execution of my plans is not always my strong point..but I’m getting there.  I have always dreamed about writing curriculum and activity books.  I used to think that meant getting “published” in print.  The internet has changed things.  For the past couple of years I have purchased items from Currclick, online.  Their mission statement says, “Our mission is to make homeschooling more convenient and more affordable to homeschoolers all over the world. We are committed to promoting homeschooling as a viable alternative to traditional schools in both America and abroad. We strive to offer excellent customer service, a stress-free shopping experience, and to providing a marketplace that rewards authors and publishers who create good quality education materials.”  You are able to purchase all kinds of wonderful, downloadable products at their site.  This summer I decided to try my hand at writing some items myself.  My son is an active, busy boy.  I wanted to create products that were hands-on and interesting.  I also wanted to create products that didn’t require much writing.  Writing is important in its own right, but it is NOT important when a child is learning, say, a History concept.  So many of my products do not require any writing at all.  I also enjoy learning about something and then teaching someone else what I have learned.  I hope that this site will be a place where I can connect with others who would like that help, either by reading about our homeschooling journey and what I have learned or by finding one of my products that might be “just right”.

So, here I am.  Writing my first, somewhat awkward blog-post to introduce myself and my materials to the blogging world.  Please check out my new store at Currclick. I plan to add many more materials as time goes on.  I also plan to blog about how I  use my products in our homeschool and tips and strategies I use for homeschooling.  And check back for some free items I plan to create, as well!  🙂

Stephenie

Leave a Reply

