Making My Homeschool Unique: Blog Hop and Giveaway!

Standard

I am participating in a blog hop with the rest of the Home Educating Family review team every Friday in September!  And if that weren’t exciting enough, each week I am going to be able to offer a giveaway for a product from Home Educating Family!  You can find out the details at the end of this post!

There are both advantages and disadvantages to homeschooling.  In my opinion, one of the greatest advantages is the flexibility it offers.  Flexibility in methods and resources we use, classes we teach, and even when we homeschool.  Our state does have some requirements that we need to meet, such as a minimum number of hours of instruction and certain core subjects we must teach.  Still, there is a great deal of flexibility available to us.  Today I am going to talk about how I take advantage of this flexibility in our scheduling to make our homeschool unique to us.

When we began homeschooling I pretty much followed the local public school’s calendar for my teaching schedule.  There are some good reasons to do this, the most obvious one being that we were out of school on the same days so I didn’t have neighbor children ringing our doorbell to play on days that we were in school! Smile  When I first started homeschooling I also had a home daycare and following the school calendar meant that the school aged children I kept were not at our house during school hours.  Later on we moved and I quit doing a full day care.  I soon realized that modifying our schedule would meet our needs better.

Over the years our schedule has evolved as our life changed.  My husband’s schedule has changed greatly since those early years.  I now school two students rather than one.  My son definitely does better with a routine and he learns better when we don’t take huge breaks.  We currently use a modified year-round schedule.  We start a new school year the third week of August and we school full days until two weeks into May.  We school all of September and January.  We take one whole week off each month in October, November, February, March, and April and two weeks off in December and May.  We school half days in June.  This gives us all of July and two weeks of August off.  I need that time to enter all of my information into my online planner and for my copying, filing, and organizing.

This schedule fits us very well.  We are off during the weeks that our extended families plan family reunions and other events, as well as major holidays.  June tends to be very warm here and my kids choose not to be outdoors most of the time, so schooling then seems natural to us.  And getting a WHOLE WEEK off during many months of the school year gives all of us time to recharge our batteries and get some extra housework done without having the re-entry issues we sometimes have when beginning in August.  Having that six week break, however, gives us a true “beginning of the school year” day, so we can take those first day photos right around the same time everyone else is heading back to school as well.

Having been a public school teacher it took me awhile to let go of school looking like public school.  But when I did, it brought a great deal of freedom.  We are not limited to certain months, days or hours for schooling.  Some weeks we do some of our schooling on Saturday or occasionally Sunday.  I prefer to work in the morning and early afternoon just because we are often busy in the evenings and my energy level is low, but every so often we will do some school work in the evening. 

If you are a beginning homeschooler, or if you have homeschooled for awhile but just really feel that you need a change, try to let go of the school mindset and think about how you can make your homeschool work for you.  Your homeschool does not need to look like anyone else’s.  It can be uniquely yours!

Now, for the giveaway information! 

I randomly chose the winner using http://www.random.org. Congratulations to Angela, whose comment was the second one on the page!  You have won a one-year subscription to Home Educating Family Magazine!  I will be contacting you to get your mailing information so that you can begin receiving your magazines. 

This week, thanks to Home Educating Family, I am able to give away a wall calendar to one of my readers! 

wall calendar

You have until midnight next Thursday (September 20th) to enter.  I will be using random.org to choose a winner, which I will announce next Friday (September 21st).  If you enter, please be sure to check back on Friday to see if you are the winner.  I will need to forward the winner’s name and email to Home Educating Family so that they can send you the prize!

Here’s how to enter:

You may have up to three entries per person.  Any extra entries will be deleted before I determine the winner. 

1. You may have one entry just for leaving any comment on this post.  I’d love to know more about you, but even just a “nice post” will do!  Smile

2. You may have one entry for “liking” Crestview Heights Academy on Facebook.  Please leave a separate comment noting that you have done so.  If you already like CHA, just let me know that in the comment.

3. You may have one entry for tweeting about the contest or posting about it on Facebook.  If you don’t have Twitter or Facebook, you can email about the contest or just tell a friend.  Leave a separate comment for completing this activity as well.

Due to international sweepstakes laws, this giveaway is for US entrants only. This giveaway is not tied to any social media site. All prizes must be claimed within eight weeks. Thank you!

I can’t wait until next week, when I will be able to announce the winner of this contest and tell you about next week’s prize!

Please go check out the rest of my team’s blogs and read about how they make their homeschools unique.

BlogHopButtonedited

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Making My School Unique | Home Educating Family Association Blog

  2. We are working on getting ready for homeschooling again next year when my daughter goes to middle school (we already tried homeschooling with her one year and it was a really bad fit so we feel like if she is gone at middle school that will make it a more natural break for the others) with our 4th grader, kinder and a toddler. Haha. Homeschooling with a toddler is silly.

  3. I was a sucker for the calendars from Shutterfly and I used to spend days (if not weeks) creating yearly ones. Sadly, I haven’t done that this year. I just can’t seem to find the time to devote to it. Now we have a blank spot on our wall where a calendar should be. I’d love to win this!

  4. Pingback: Making My School Unique | HEDUA

Leave a Reply

